SharePassion Creed

16 12 2015

The argument goes as follows,” I can’t find anything in this mess of a file share.” The answer I give is, “SharePoint can help with that!”. The reaction to that is, “SharePoint is too complex!” or “I have too much stuff to sort through!”, or something to that extent.

Bro, do you even SharePoint?

Why do I even bother? I’ll tell you why. Because I love what I do. I love SharePoint and what it can do. I enjoy watching the light bulb in people’s heads go off when they see what this amazing piece of technology can do for them. Yes, I am a geek and damn proud of it.

No joke, I have not gone to work since 2005, when I first started working with SharePoint. Why am I telling you this? Because, I want you to know what SharePoint means to me and the many other passionate folks in the SharePoint community. These people, put in ungodly amounts of their free time, to speak and help anyone understand what it is to SharePoint. Some go under the radar and others like Todd Klindt and Christian Buckley go above and beyond to help us all out. Honestly, I am proud to know them and even call them friends. So guys, from the bottom of my ShareHeart, ShareThankYou for what you ShareDo.

Shameless plug for you buddy: You wanna know SharePoint….

https://t.co/fKNpd7jWyA

Which brings me to the reason I was suddenly motivated to write this. Passion. It is funny that a stupid (well actually pretty good) movie about a Chef that opens a food cart in Miami, choked me up enough to tickle the keyboard.
So, passion, it is why I do what I do. Anything worth doing should be done with passion. SharePoint is one of those things. It allows the technical and analytical boring side of me to merge with my goofy creative side. I love that! It makes me excited to go to work every day.

It made me spend hours on google trying to find out why the UPS service gets stuck on provisioning.

It made me figure out how to do an accordion mega menu for universal navigation.

It even made me spend a week trying to figure out how to write a workflow that creates sub-sites on demand by using JSON calls. I feel like a dev.

SharePoint is that amazing. Three completely different problems, in the same framework. It is both a science and an art and if that doesn’t get you going in the morning, then you must live in Lotus Notes land or something.

On-prem or in the cloud, it doesn’t matter to me. There is a solution that needs to be crafted for someone, somewhere and I intend to make it.

Us SharePoint people, we are grinders. We grind every day and I dig that about you all.
Thank you very much for being there for us all and if I can be of any service, you can count on me.

Here’s to more SharePassion in 2016 and beyond!

I bequeath to you all the SharePassion Creed.

This is SharePoint. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

SharePoint is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I must master my life.

SharePoint, without me, is useless. Without SharePoint, I am useless. I must configure SharePoint true. I must not use the configuration wizard. I must use powershell, I will…

SharePoint and I know that what counts in the farm is metadata, not the folders they want, nor sub sites they say they need. We know that it is search that count. We will search…

SharePoint is human, even as I, because it is my life. Thus, I will learn it as a brother. I will learn its weaknesses, its strength, its web parts, its accessories, its workflow engine and its API. I will keep SharePoint clean and ready, even as I am clean and ready. We will become part of each other. We will…

Before God, I swear this creed. SharePoint and I are the defenders of the information. We are the masters of our data. We are the saviors of documents.

So be it, until there are no more folders and there isn’t 1 content database that holds 5000 sites, but clean flat metadata.

Thank you Microsoft for keeping it On Prem!

Nando

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

